The Karate Kid

Picture 082Daniel San, stitching your headband was an unexpected pain in my ass.

I re-watched “The Karate Kid” a few days ago, upon completion of this towel set. It was on my mind for obvious reasons, but I also needed some cheesy feel-goodery to wipe out the stress of a string of shitty days. More than anything, I enjoy making fun of Daniel throughout the duration of the film. Could he be more of a whining moron? I don’t think so.

That aside, the more I watch this movie, the more I am appalled by the display of stereotypes and overt racism. Such a comment likely makes one think immediately of Pat Morita who spoke perfectly fluent English, yet was directed to play his character of Mr. Miyagi with broken half-sentences punctuated with “Hie!”. However, the opening scene seems worse to me. From the window of her beaten-up station wagon, Daniel’s mother tells one of the straggling children in the street to “tell Uncle Louie the red wine and parmesan are in the fridge”. All I can say to this is, what the fuck? I imagine Uncle Louie, in utter confusion, searching the house for the wine and parm – behind the couch, in the closet, finally exasperated and pulling his hair out screaming where the hell did she leave the red wine and parmesan?!! Alas, they are Italian, in case you didn’t catch that. I won’t pursue this element of the movie, but if you are interested in a more detailed analysis, you should follow this guy on Acid Washed Apathy.

And now, I will leave you with this: Sweep the leg, Johnny. Sweep the leg.

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

