Sherlock

sherlockMy problem with Martin Freeman began with his role as Tim in “The Office”. By “problem”, I mean that I found him terribly cute, yet I knew that he’s not really cute. I’m not one to swoon over a British accent, so it wasn’t that. It’s something I still can’t put my finger on. He’s pallid with a squishy face and two tons of baggage under his eyes. Still, he’s adorable, and I can’t help it.

As for Benedict Cumberbatch, I knew nothing of him until his role in “Sherlock”. What can I say? I have a thing for highly functioning sociopaths, and his role as Sherlock Holmes is so well done that I want to simultaneously slap him and hug him. And the man himself? He is the internet’s Golden Boy from his politics to his humor to his sexiness.

The two cuties aside, “Sherlock” is so smart and clever that it gives me new hope for television, mankind, and the world. Is that excessive? Probably. But this show has the production, writing, and attention equal to film, which is something I have not seen since “Twin Peaks”. If you haven’t already, go watch it. I’m anxiously awaiting Series Four.

5 comments

  1. Finished rewatching season 2 on Bluray about 20 minutes ago! Had to see it again (and again!) Was lucky enough to catch the Sherlock panel at LFCC this year too! Moffat pretty much confirmed the explanation for Sherlock surviving the jump from the roof. Total geekasm.

      1. Sadly no Cumberbatch or Freeman. Was still pretty cool listening to Stephen Moffat and Mark Gatiss talk about putting the show together.

  2. Is there any way to get the pattern/drawing/whatever that you used for these so that I can make some for my Sherlock-Holmes-obsessed friend? Or perhaps a crafting/knitting/baking swap of some kind? Or just give you lots of cash?

    These are amazing, and her birthday is coming up at the end of November. Something like this would be just exactly weird and wonderful enough to make for her.

    1. A finished set is for sale in my Etsy, but I’m happy to give you a copy of my sketches if you want to make your own. Swap? Yes, Please! Hook me up with something awesome.

      Shoot me an email (stitchboombang@gmail.com) and I’ll send you a jpeg of the sketch.

Leave a Reply

