The Shining hat series: Wendy

wendyTypically, I don’t believe in pompoms. They are a waste of yarn, and a pain in the ass to make. However, Shelley Duvall deserves a pompom. According to Wikipedia, which is the goddamn gospel of the internet, Kubrick made Shelley Duvall and Jack Nicholson do 127 takes of the baseball bat scene (“Wendy, darling, light of my life. I’m not gonna hurt ya. I’m just gonna bash your brains in. I’m gonna bash ’em right the fuck in!”). For that, she deserves more than a few stiff drinks, but all I can offer is a pompom. And, being that all of her features are overstated from her horsie teeth to her bulging eyes, this hat needed to be over the top. A pompom was necessary. Thus, I present to you the Wendy hat. I hope you appreciate my hat model’s dedication to channeling the proper vibe for this photo.

8 comments

  1. I love that you are using a movie to inspire your hat projects! What a great idea. And you’re right: Shelley totally deserves a pompom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

