Twin Peaks – The Log Lady

log ladyHave you heard the news? Yinzerella at Dinner is Served 1972 broke the story in my Facebook news feed regarding the new Twin Peaks series on Showtime. After initial disbelief and some serious googling, I am coming to terms with waiting until 2016 for the new series airs, and then waiting until it comes out on DVD or is available to stream online. (As much as I love pop culture, I do not have cable television or Netflix. I get my shit from the library.)

That’s a lot of waiting. But then I think of all of those Twin Peaks enthusiasts out there – the bloggers, the festival goers, the analysts, the theorists – and this really must have made their day, their year, their life.

I’m not sure where I fit in to all of this. I suppose I’m a fan. I watch the series annually. I can quote much of the dialogue. I think Twin Peaks changed television, irreversibly, for the better.

Still, doesn’t everyone remember how bad the second season was? Once the murder was solved, the plot lines took a nose dive, and peripheral characters went from being quirky to annoying. How can a continuation of this, even in a limited series, be something to look forward to?

After listening to 7 minutes of a small batch edition of Pop Culture Happy Hour on NPR, I am convinced. If you are skeptical, I urge you to listen to it. If you are already on the Twin Peaks bandwagon, I still urge you to listen to it. There is an incredibly poignant Bert and Ernie analogy that makes it worth your time. I promise.

And now, I’m left to wait. In the meantime, I’m revisiting my Twin Peaks stitched series, previously abandoned because I thought, “Who is going to want dozens of tea towels stitched with all of the various Twin Peaks characters?” Perhaps no one. But what else do I have to do? Thus, I leave you with the Log Lady. Someday, her log will have something to say about this.

10 comments

    1. I wanted to be Diane – can you imagine getting all of those tapes from Cooper, addressing you personally?! Swoon. I just don’t know about the tea towels. Maybe I should make coasters or cocktail napkins. Seriously, there are a shitload of characters.

  1. Oh wow, I can’t wait for new Twin Peaks! I think a set of cocktail napkins featuring the cast would indeed be a fitting tribute… Serve with a slice of cherry pie and a mug of good coffee 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to see that rest of the stitched series. I’m ambivalent about the return of Twin Peaks. Like you, the second season was horrible that it turned me off from watching “Fire Walk With Me”. I’m not sure what the new series will look like. Also, I haven’t watched the series in a long time. I’ll have to revisit it.

Leave a Reply

