Silence of the Lambs

lambsMost people probably consider “Silence of the Lambs” to be a horror/thriller. I suppose it is. However, in my house, it is considered our vacation movie. Whenever we have a day off work or need to relax, this is our go-to film. It is dark, it is mostly quiet (minus Jodie Foster’s hyperventilating at the end), it is sad, it is funny, and it is weird. One overpowering reason I made this set was so that I could caption the photo with “It puts the lotion in the basket”. I mean, that is fucking funny.

I think it is wrong to clump all horror/thriller films into Halloween viewing. For example, “The Shining” is best watched in the depths of winter, and “Texas Chainsaw Massacre” is certainly a summertime movie. In fact, I doubt I’ll be watching any scary movies this weekend for Halloween, just as I don’t tend to watch holiday movies in December.

What do I watch on Thanksgiving, aka Genocide Day? I watch “Rhinestone”, the 1984 comedy with Dolly Parton and Sylvester Stallone in which Dolly (who basically plays herself) tries to teach Sly (who also plays himself, as a cab driver and a moron) how to be a country music singer. It’s horrible, and I love it. I’m already looking forward to this year’s viewing, as well as the pizza that will accompany it.

This makes me wonder if other people have movie-watching rituals. Do people actually watch “Born on the 4th of July” on the 4th of July? Probably not, because Tom Cruise is a lunatic. But how about “A Christmas Story” on Christmas Day? Or “Spring Breakers” during Spring Break? If that’s the case, I have no idea where “Rhinestone” fits into all of this.

Leave a Reply

