The Princess Bride – Inigo Montoya

patinkinI love Mandy Patinkin.

I love him so much that I suffered through every season of Criminal Minds in which he appeared; all of those inane and formulaic (and usually misogynistic) murder mysteries, just to catch a glimpse of his salt and pepper melancholy grin.

I love him so much that I have memorized many of his zingers as Rube in Dead Like Me, a series I was sad to see end so prematurely. This Patinkin role taught me that “I need to make a sissy” is New Yorker for “I have to pee”. That alone, along with his prerequisite song in one episode, was worth the purchase of both seasons on DVD.

I love him so much that I saw him in concert in Chicago in 2008. It was Patinkin solo, on a bare stage with a microphone and an overhead light. He was dressed in black. He told funny stories. He sang some songs. It solidified him in my mind as a true performer.

I love him so much that I watched a PBS special on model trains that featured him. Yes, Patinkin has a passion for model trains that most people reserve for their morning jug of Starbucks or heated car seats.

And yes, I love Mandy Patinkin so much that I have watched Yentl and have even said that it is “good”. Given Patinkin’s singing abilities, would it have killed Babs to give him a single song on the soundtrack?

That brings us to his role in The Princess Bride, which is unquestionably the most endearing dose of Patinkin available. Maybe it’s his accent. Maybe it’s his sweet friendship with Andre the Giant. Maybe it’s his quest to avenge his father’s murder. I can’t say for sure, I only know that his ambidextrous fencing and mission to find the six-fingered man still make me swoon, despite that weird super-mullet.

Because I chose to stitch Patinkin as Inigo Montoya, I would be remiss to leave out his personal proverb. Hence, I will end with it here:

Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.

*******************************************

An addendum, posted in the comments by my partner in crime:

As an addendum to this wonderful post and embroidery, the poster and I:
A) saw him at a concert in Chicago. The place wasn’t empty, but it was far too large a theater for him to pack; consequently, it was empty relative to the size of the theater and he told the entire audience to move up. We didn’t. We stayed where we were, which was toward the back, but we sat next to a lady who had seen him dozens of times and seemed to be a Mandy Patinkin groupie.
B) the first time we were in Madison (WI), visiting, checking the place out to see if we might want to move there, who do we see wandering around State Street but Mandy Patinkin. Was he the reason we moved to Madison? No, but when asked, we can honestly say he was the reason and in saying so, we are not entirely inaccurate.

9 comments

  1. As an addendum to this wonderful post and embroidery, the poster and I:
    A) saw him at a concert in Chicago. The place wasn’t empty, but it was far too large a theater for him to pack; consequently, it was empty relative to the size of the theater and he told the entire audience to move up. We didn’t. We stayed where we were, which was toward the back, but we sat next to a lady who had seen him dozens of times and seemed to be a Mandy Patinkin groupie.
    B) the first time we were in Madison (WI), visiting, checking the place out to see if we might want to move there, who do we see wandering around State Street but Mandy Patinkin. Was he the reason we moved to Madison? No, but when asked, we can honestly say he was the reason and in saying so, we are not entirely inaccurate.

Leave a Reply

