Freddie Mercury

Freddie

Freddie Mercury is so tragic, I nearly burst into tears just looking at his overbite. He may even be more tragic than Joey Ramone, and that is a bold statement.

I don’t have much of a past with Queen. I was aware of certain hits when I was a youngster, especially Another One Bites the Dust, but I was not a fan. In my college years I had a more formal introduction due to my swift and intense obsession with Bowie. This led me to purchase a greatest hits album for access to Under Pressure. I eventually gave the entire disc a chance and it hit heavy rotation and made frequent appearances on my mix tapes. This is where Queen stayed, quietly in the background of my life.

Fast forward to 2014 when I reluctantly agreed to see a Queen tribute Band, Gary Mullen & the Works. I went into it incredibly skeptical, thinking any version of a Queen song is pointless without Freddie Mercury behind the microphone. Needless to say, this tribute band was amazing. Amazing, I tell you. By the time Gary Mullen ripped off his shirt and told the audience how sexy we were, I was smitten. Of course I never actually saw Freddie in concert, so perhaps there really isn’t any comparison. Still, Gary has the mustache, the chest hair, the moves, the voice, and the charisma. If he’s ever in your area – get tickets and go. Don’t think about it. Just go. I still get goose bumps thinking about clapping to Radio Ga Ga.

And sometimes, when I feel like sobbing uncontrollably, I will watch the video of Liza Minnelli leading We Are the Champions at the end of the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert in 1992. Have you ever actually listened to the lyrics of that song? Jesus. It kills me.

Despite all of that, this is a custom piece that I have an inkling is being given to someone as a gag gift. I thought about refusing the request based on that alone. However, I wanted to stitch Freddie, and I gave his mustache and chest hair all of the respect he deserves. If someone else thinks it’s a joke, well… screw them and their Taylor Swift album.

5 comments

  1. Just fabulous!! I can’t think of Queen without either thinking of the clip in Wayne’s World, or the fact that I was terrified of the Bohemian Rhapsody video when I was little!

  2. I was so devastated when Freddie died. Innuendo was the first album (well I should say, cassette) when I got back from Desert Shield/Desert Storm. I listened to that tape all the time! Then later on that year, Freddie announced that he had AIDS. Then he was gone a few days later. So sad. I loved that tribute concert too. Liza was great. I loved the “Ready Freddie” part of “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” with Robert Plant. And I want to say Annie Lennox did “Under Pressure” with David Bowie.

Leave a Reply

