Grey Gardens

Grey Gardens

 

I was planning to stitch Little Edie and Big Edie for Mothers Day (anti-Mothers Day?), but the death Albert Maysles last Friday brought this project to the front of mind.

When I first saw Grey Gardens, I didn’t consider the impact it had on the world of film, bringing legitimacy to the documentary that reality television is now slowly breaking down. I only felt the tragedy of Little Edie Beale. It is overwhelming and all encompassing. Still, she somehow manages to be fabulous, insightful , funny and obliviously insulated amid cat feces, crumbling walls, and bed-ridden Big Eadie.

According to Huffington Post, a restored Grey Gardens is being re-released on the big screen, starting in New York. I’m not sure I need to see a “restored” version. Is that like seeing Ben Stiller’s face in HD? Every pore, every vein, covered in pancake make-up, magnified to cartoonish and horrific effect? I’ll be watching for it at my local theatre, nonetheless. You should, too.

5 comments

  1. This is awesome! I’m so glad you reminded me of the original “Grey Gardens” before the new movie comes out… It’s a long time since I saw it, but I remember being utterly won over by the two Edies. Oh, and Mother’s day is this coming Sunday in Ireland and the UK, so your timing is actually perfect!

Leave a Reply

