Mommie Dearest

Mommie Dearest

I have learned that I am terrible at marketing holidays. Either I passive-aggressively let it pass by, or I come up with ideas that are completely not sellable. Case in point: Mother’s Day is quickly approaching, which gave me the idea for this Mommie Dearest fun pack. What child would give this to his/her mother? A very, very bad one. And what mother would want to receive it? No mother anywhere ever.

Regardless, I had fun making it. And I’ll have more fun watching it sit in my shop well beyond the May target. This does not make me sad, because look at those eyebrows! And, while stitching all of this up, I watched the 25th anniversary DVD with commentary by John Waters. Personally, I think John Waters should provide commentary for every movie.

I’ll take this opportunity to wish everyone a happy early Mother’s Day. By the time it actually rolls around, I’m sure I’ll forget and miss it entirely.

 

4 comments

  1. I’m awful with holidays, too. Easter was here before I even though about dying eggs. One less thing I need to do, I guess.

    You just need one person who is a huge fan of Mommie Dearest, and your towels will sell. But marketing them for Mother’s Day might not work so well. How about Halloween? 😉

  2. That. Is. Awesome!!!! I I think you would be surprised at who would buy them for Mother’s Day. There are a lot of passive aggressive people out there… 🙂

    1. Agreed! Plus there are many *difficult* mother-daughter relationships and for those, a flowery or sparkly greeting card just doesn’t fit! 😉

      1. ha! Yeah, but there is probably a happy medium somewhere between “flowery” and “no wire hangers”! Who knows. But at least I think it’s hilarious.

Leave a Reply

