The Simpsons

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope there is someone out there who really, really loves The Simpsons because I will only allow this son of a bitch to go to the most loving of homes. Why? Because it took me damn near forever to complete. In stitching terms, that is probably only a few months, but when we are talking hours invested, I can’t even think about it or I’ll faint.

The tablecloth was found in a thrift store, like all of my accoutrements. The lace edge and sunshine yellow called my name, screamed my name, and I was truly giddy taking it home. I first envisioned stitching Yellow Submarine on this gem. When The Simpsons also came to mind, I went with the franchise I felt was less likely to sue me. In the end, I know I made the right decision and I enjoyed every little stitch of this project. I typically require much faster gratification, and I’m not quite sure why I didn’t abandon this midway, as I tend to do when thousands of stitches are involved (refer to the Iron Maiden post, for example).

I spoke to my hat model about giving this away on my Facebook page. His shook his head at me as if to say, Oh, you silly, silly chump, and told me to post the hell out of it on my Etsy. Copyright infringement, be damned! So, that’s what I did. If you’ve got a large budget for needless nonsense, check out the listing! If not, feel free to congratulate me instead.

14 comments

  1. I’m a little late to the party here, but that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the awesomeness of your sunny yellow masterpiece. All the details are amazing… Especially Lisa’s uncomfortable expression! I’m sure you’ll have no trouble finding it the loving home it deserves!

    1. My evil plot has worked! I’ve got you in my clutches. Your horror scopes pulled me in. Now we can be a mutual admiration society. Nice to meet you. My name is Heather.

Leave a Reply

