Beastie Boys – Sabotage

sabotage

For three days I have had “Listen all y’all it’s Sabotage” in my head. Just that one line. It’s enough to drive me mad if I were not so in love with the Beastie Boys. Thus, I made another decorative fucking pillow.

pillow

I have done one Beastie Boys project before, and it tore me up because all the way through it I could only think of poor, dead, MCA, and how it still hurts my heart that he’s gone. This project felt a bit happier, a bit more upbeat, perhaps because one cannot watch the genius Sabotage video without smiling. Wigs, fake mustaches, aviator sunglasses, thrift store neckties, high kicks, walkie talkies, chasing perps – all within the first thirty seconds.

Admittedly, there are times when I’m stitching along and I stop and think, what the hell am I doing? I specifically remember thinking this when I was stitching Coolio’s braids a while back. I mean, it’s all so absurd. But then I watch something like Sabotage, with three grown men paying their personal homage to 70s crime drama, and I think, I’m having fun, that’s what the hell I’m doing. Somehow, I hope the Beastie Boys would approve.

4 comments

  1. Having fun is a totally legitimate reason for making something (says the woman who knits sweaters for dinosaurs…)

Leave a Reply

