Kramer

kramerThat Thursday night line-up back in the early/mid 90s was great. Some people think Seinfeld jumped the shark. I think, as with many sitcoms, the characters began to parody themselves. That’s not to say it jumped the shark. Still, I refuse to think of Kramer as “Cosmo” because that’s just silly.

Kramer has been on my mind lately, specifically the episode that he decides to spend most of his time in the shower. He installs a garbage disposal in his bathtub and begins prepping meals while he is showering. Hilarity ensues when he serves such a meal to a germaphobe with predictable results. Why is this in particular on my mind? I am currently going through a nightmarish bathroom rehab in my home, and I have not showered since August 10th. Yes, I have entered my 4th consecutive week without fully cleaning myself. Every time I shove my head under the kitchen tap to wash my hair, I think of Kramer, and how disgusting it is to crossover hygiene with food. Honestly, I’m clinging to my sanity by a mere thread these days, and I fully blame the necessity of using the kitchen sink for tasks it was not intended. I’m far from a germaphobe, but sometimes I can smell food bits because my face is right next to the garbage disposal, and man, that is just gross. Luckily, I should have a fully functioning, beautiful new bathroom in only three more weeks. Please shower today, wherever you are, and love the hell out of it.

In the meantime, enjoy this Kramer stitch. I have been dying to use that pink fabric, and this was surely kismet.

4 comments

  1. Great job on Kramer! Are you gonna stitch the rest of the gang? Also, not having a shower stinks! Are there any spas or pools near you? You could totally justify treating yourself!

    1. I stitched Jerry and George on a tea towel set – I can’t seem to capture Elaine and all of her toothy grin. I have thought about joining a gym, just so I can shower, but that seems a bit extreme…

  2. Great Kramer! I got a little hooked on Seinfeld reruns about 10 years ago, it might be time to revisit them again 😀 And being showerless sucks… Maybe see if there are any hotel deals on offer in downtown [insert your town name here] and get away from the garbage disposal for a weekend? After 4 weeks, I think you’ve earned it!

Leave a Reply

