John Ritter

john ritter

I remember the day John Ritter died – September 11, 2003. It threw me for a loop. Then, the very next day, Johnny Cash died. I had what one might refer to as a meltdown.

It’s funny how certain things can touch us, like John Ritter’s sensitivity in his role as Vaughn in Slingblade, or like Johnny Cash’s cover of I Won’t Back Down. On a grand scale, I suppose that is how “art” impacts us, and sometimes we don’t even realize it. On a smaller scale, we are surrounded by potentially moving experiences every single day, if we just choose to notice. This morning on the bus a woman complimented my polka dot dress and I damn near started crying.

I think I need to wear polka dots more often (don’t we all?), and this weekend I’m going to start a project that means something to me. I don’t know what it is yet, but I’m sure I’ll think of something as I raise a glass to toast the woman on the bus.

3 comments

  1. Very cool, John was my man on “Three’s Company!” I remember the news. Can’t believe it’s been over ten years. Gone too soon. By the way, I haven’t seen your postings in a while because it doesn’t show up on my followed sites feed which I check every night.

    1. What the hell, WordPress?! I wonder why my nuggets of joy are not making their way to you. That’s complete bullshit. As for John Ritter, he was brilliant and underrated, like most of my heroes. Thanks for the comment, Sam!

      1. Haha, I really don’t know, I was wondering what happened to that cool site with a name you can’t forget “Stitch Boom Bang!” Agree about John Ritter, and thank you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

