Little Houses

12002926_865063363569835_9144485240071089212_n

I’ve got this neighbor named Ben. He was the inspiration for my RELAX post. (If you want to see him in a half-shirt and short shorts, I highly recommend clicking on the link.) He’s a realtor, and when I opened my shop a little over a year ago, he began commissioning custom tea towels for his buyers, depicting a stitched version of their new home. It’s a clever gift, and as he claims, “it’s better than a ficus”. I should probably adopt that as my motto.

The great thing about these projects is that most of these houses are in my neighborhood. Often when I’m out walking my dog I’ll point to a home and say, “I’ve stitched that.” I also cannot help but look at architecture differently now, seeing buildings in stitches rather than brick and mortar. Although I love stitching all of the pop culture icons of my particular fancy, stitching these houses for Ben has taught me more about lines and perspective than any of the portraits I’ve done.

So here’s a shout out to Ben, for supporting my silly shop, and for broadening my stitching horizons. To get your own, all you have to do is buy a house from him. Madisonians can give him a shout at www.benanton.com. He’s pretty important and has an entire website named after him.

With that said, I also want to mention I will be participating in TWO shows in November. I’ll post more info as the dates approach, but for now, you can follow the events here:

The Crafty Fair – November 15th at the Goodman Center

Craftacular – November 28th at the Masonic Center

There will be tons of crafty shit at both shows, so mark your calendar if you happen to be in the area.

4 comments

  1. Two weekends and I am out of town for one and hosting my MIL the other. Perhaps she wants to go to a craft show. I wish people would take me to them when I visited them (I mean, cool craft shows. Not lame ones. Obviously). I will have to ask her.

    1. MILs love crafts! Give me a heads up if you are coming – I will have special crafty treats for you, just because you are an awesome social media friend. Really, I wish I could meet more online people IRL, so I do hope you can make it!

      1. I will give you a heads up! We are still making plans, and it would be great to meet you IRL. I’ve always enjoyed meeting the few people I have over the years.

Leave a Reply

