Shop Local

Today I will ship my final consignment package, this one to South Milwaukee, completing my whirlwind of getting stitches out to six local shops.

By “local”, I mean shops in Wisconsin that are owned and operated by “locals”. I know we all try our best to do the right thing, but I just wanted to make that clear after seeing “locally owned” on the placard outside of a west side McDonald’s. I also heard that Macy’s will be adding an Etsy section to one of their stores. Does that seem weird to anyone? I think it’s weird. Anyway, if you are out and about, check out some of these fine establishments on my shop local page.

I have inserted a fancy slideshow below, which is sample of what I have spattered across the state. Go get it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

15 comments

    1. I don’t know. That leads me back to the age-old question: Does a bear shit in the woods? I know that doesn’t answer your question, but Etsy in Macy’s is like Beyonce wearing pants.

  1. I’m going to second that…Macy’s had a big ad in the paper about their Etsy shop. I did a double take. Etsy is definitely no longer local. Hasn’t been for quite awhile.

    1. I still think Etsy is a good platform for makers who want to get out there and start selling. In short, it is a good place to start. But it has become this monster of non-handmade, manufactured garbage, and it takes forever to filter through to the stuff that is supposed to be their true mission – handmade by small craftspeople. I wouldn’t shop at Macy’s before they had Etsy, so why would I now?

      1. I agree. A friend of mine’s son used to program for Etsy, and he quit a few years ago because it had changed so much. I’ve complained to them about all the manufactured stuff from China, but it falls on deaf ears I’m afraid.

    1. Thanks, Lady! I think the way Etsy in Macy’s works is that the top sellers, who already make a living on their craft, are offered yet another platform for exposure. The Macy’s here is in a MALL for crying out loud! I’m not sure how that is true to the Etsy mission. And, I wonder how much of a cut Macy’s gets out of this.

      1. Maybe enough that the featured craftspeople no longer make a living on their craft… 😆 This does make me glad that I attended Etsy’s craft party back in the summer though, and took them for as much free food and gin as I could hold.

      2. Well, they had ONE… They moved to new offices in Dublin city centre last summer, and it might just have been to celebrate that. But it may be worth your while to keep an eye out for notices of an Etsy Craft Party near you in June/July this year…

    1. Ha! I thought the same thing about some of the Regretsy nominees, or even my own shit for that matter. I’m sure there will be some nice cutting boards and arrow shaped jewelry.

Leave a Reply

